Montana
First Name
Josh
Willys Model
  1. Pickup
Willys Year:
  1. 1965
Hello everyone!

I'm new to the OWF, but hopefully I can contribute some small fraction of what I've learned from this site.

I found OWF while looking for info on rebuilding the Tornado 230 that's in my '65 Jeep J200. I know it's not a true Willys Overland rig, but it has the heartbeat of one, which is where it really counts.

I bought my truck a year and a half ago, drove it home, and it hasn't moved since. I'm not new to Jeeps, the first rig I owned was an '85 CJ7, and my wife and I have had a bit of everything over the years. I'm not a mechanic by trade, but I enjoy the process. We've got four kiddos and a house to work on, so the 'ol Gladiator hasn't been a big priority of late, but we're making traction.

I pulled the motor just over a year ago, knowing it had to be rebuilt, and that's where things got dicey. I decided the best path forward for me was to remove and replace the OG Tornado, rather than head down the slippery slope of engine swaps. I had no idea what I was signing up for...

I'm in Montana, which, if you're not familiar with the map of the US, isn't close to anywhere. Except the Big Sky. Parts are hard to come by, apparently so are good machine shops. After quite a bit of digging, I found a local machinist who was the right man for the job. I initially took him my cylinder head, and he knew exactly what it was when he saw it. That's when I knew Wes was my guy.

To make a long story short, my block is currently standard bore, but worn. Wes recommended .020" over pistons. I searched high and low, I chased down every lead I had. Here's what I learned:

-Egge Machine in CA would make me custom pistons, for a small fortune. $1400 for the set, plus rings. I know that this truck is going to cost me some cash, but I don't have that kind of coin to put into this.