Jan 7, 2023
Pittsburg,ca
First Name
Scott
Willys Model
  1. CJ
Willys Year:
  1. 1961
So I’m pretty new to Hurricane motor in my new to me 61 CJ5. It looks like the previous owner put a new carburetor on . I changed the oil and replaced the plugs and wires hoping it would run a bit better but it’s About the same from when I drove it up on the trailer, it will idle just fine but as soon as you give it gas it will either die or spudder and backfire and then die. The previous owner installed a electric fuel pump because he couldn’t find a replacement mechanical but it seems like it’s getting enough fuel. It seems to idle great with it screwed two turns out but other than that what else can I try? Here are pictures of the carb5D360ED1-65E7-493F-BC0D-9BC080B001A6.jpeg11027DBE-3ABB-4E55-ABA3-5A385FF94572.jpeg

I believe the gasket under the carb is not a correct part & that you probably have a vacuum leak. hook up a vacuum gauge & start diagnosing from there. Looks like some tidying of linkages & cables up is in order.

I am hopelessly old-school. I don't trust a Chicom copy of a poorly rendered copy of the Solex brand carburetor. That having been said, backfiring is a timing issue. It could be basic distributor timing or it may be valve adjustment, or it may be both. It may be carbon accumulation in the cylinders and on the plugs. How close to that exhaust pipe is that fuel line? If you haven't done it yet, I recommend a complete tune-up. No shortcuts. Read the book. Do it right.

I am hopelessly old-school. I don't trust a Chicom copy of a poorly rendered copy of the Solex brand carburetor. That having been said, backfiring is a timing issue. It could be basic distributor timing or it may be valve adjustment, or it may be both. It may be carbon accumulation in the cylinders and on the plugs. How close to that exhaust pipe is that fuel line? If you haven't done it yet, I recommend a complete tune-up. No shortcuts. Read the book. Do it right.