Gear Grinder
Jul 16, 2020
Sweden
First Name
Christian
Willys Model
Forward Control
Willys Year:
I've started work on the FC and could use some help. As said, I'm a total newbie with these cars.
I guess I need to remove the large nut on the driveshaft to remove the brake drum?20200726_191554.jpg

-57 FC170

Gear Grinder
Jul 16, 2020
Sweden
First Name
Christian
Willys Model
Forward Control
Willys Year:
I measured it to 52mm, or is it 2 inch? Is it the same size on the rear axle as well?

Stakebed

Well Oiled
All-Star
Mar 4, 2020
Northern California
First Name
Joseph
Willys Model
Pickup
Willys Year:
The outer nut should have a washer behind it which is bent over two nut flats. Straighten out the washer, remove outer nut, remove washer, remove inner nut, gently pull hub/drum and dislodge outer bearing, remove outer bearing, remove hub/drum. You will want a 4wd spindle socket. Trust me, get the correct tool. Mine measures out to 2 1/16".
20200726_104426.jpg

Read drum axle nut on my Dana 53 is 1.5". You rear end might be a Dana 44 or other. Perhaps others will chime in if those have different size axle nuts.
20200726_104411.jpg

Buuut, the hub is pressed onto the tapered axle shaft so you need a hub puller. Once again, get the correct tool. You might damage parts or yourself by not using the correct tools. BTW, that hub is often REALLY on there. Leave the axle nut on with a few threads engaged. Otherwise, sometimes the puller and hub go flying across the room when the hub finally let's go. Yes, they can be that tight.
This shows my puller with only one leg attached. Mine has three legs. Other designs have more.
20200726_104508.jpg

Good luck!

Last edited:

-57 FC170

Gear Grinder
Jul 16, 2020
Sweden
First Name
Christian
Willys Model
Forward Control
Willys Year:
Thanks for the information. I got the large socket for the front axle in the mail today. I'll update once I get things going again

Lookout Ranch

Well Oiled
All-Star
May 9, 2015
Sierra Foothills
First Name