fuel/ vacuum pump

rydin4life

Gear Grinder
Jun 18, 2010
Willys Model
Willys Year:
Hello all, I have recently purchased a 1960 Willy's pickup in pieces and am starting to dive in to the long process of restoring it. After changing out the coil and tinkering with the engine, I got it to fire up briefly. The engine sounds like it's running well for the couple seconds that it runs. I noticed that my fuel/vacuum pump doesn't work. I took it apart and cleaned every internal piece. After re-installing it, it still doesn't work.

I have two options: One is to purchase a rebuild kit for it. The other is to just buy an electric universal fuel pump and completely bypass the stock setup. I have an electric wiper motor so I don't think I will need the vacuum pump. I guess my question is, can I run an electric fuel pump and not have any issues? I don't think I will need the vacuum pump but I'm not sure. I'm very new to mechanics. Any input is greatly appreciated! Thank you!

aquawilly54

Well Oiled
Sep 21, 2009
Willys Model
Willys Year:
Brian, I haven't heard of anyone who has used an electric pump and actually been happy with it; including myself. The two most comon reasons are Noise and having to use a fuel regulator. Do yourself a favor and just replace the existing mechanical fuel pump. You can find one at NAPA Auto...ANNNND, they usually have the vacuum side plugged off, so you'll be all set.
Steve

Pete

Founder/Owner
Staff member
Administrator
Sep 17, 2009
Hailey, Idaho
First Name
Pete
Willys Model
  1. Wagon
Willys Year:
  1. 1960
The '60 wagon I just bought has both an electric pump and the factory mechanical pump. I'm not sure if the mechanical pump works or not, but the electric pump sounds like a cessna airplane ready for takeoff. I think I'm going to leave it there, but wire it to a switch for a back up pump if the mechanical pump ever fails.

My vote would be to just rebuild or replace the mechanical pump and pass on the electric pump.

Pete

rydin4life