Frame Painting

Tash329

Bigger Hammer
Feb 28, 2011
S. Jersey
Willys Model
Willys Year:
Hello---newbie here. I have a question on frame painting. After cleaning the rust from a Willys frame I see that most are in favor of an epoxy base paint. I guess thats applied by paint gun. My question being, if one doesn't have a spray gun setup, could you use a marine 2 part mix of 50/50 epoxy apply by brush over the bare metal and end up with the same results, then top coat it with lets say Zero Rust for more protection?

Hi Rich- Welcome to the forum...

Pete

Welcome to forum!
I used Rust Bullet primer on my frame. Applied first coat with a brush. First coat was nice an thick but took forever and was difficult to get in all nooks and crannys. Broke out sprayer and applied second coat of primer and finish coated in half the time. Also still have some brush marks I'm a bit disappointed with. Used a small compressor and detail sprayer with air drier.

You are on the right track...I have used POR 15 with a brush, roller amd spray...Rust Bullet is a similar product and works just as well. Good Luck, wear gloves unless you like wearing black paint for three weeks.

I feel you can brush your paint on with out much problem, I am just going to ask why not spray it? Just to through it out there if you have a project you might benefit from having a compressor after that you could get a $30 or so spray gun from harbor freight or something similar. If it is the overspray I understand. If you are not comfortable spraying paint I would say give it a try it might really help your project. I don't want to offend just something to consider. Either way I am sure it will be great.

compyello said: