Apr 21, 2018
Texas
First Name
Jeff
Willys Model
  1. Wagon
Willys Year:
  1. 1950
Started deconstruction on my son's 1950 wagon. It's very rusty. I am a mechanic by trade so to me the mechanical is the easy part. I am not a body man so my plan is to try to bring the body to a usable state then make it run and drive. Whether that be an engine transplant into existing drivetrain or a complete drivetrain frame swap.

The worst areas are the upper cab corners where it meets the roof these areas I don't see replacement panels for and the floor pans.

Pics to follow

Jeff

Hello Jeff... Amazingly, Your Wagon can be Restored! I wish I could say that "It will Buff Out"! I think it will take a bit more than that, but it's very Doable! Post your progress as you go! Bring another Old Willys Truck back to it's Glory! Pivnic

My son is 14 I'd like to have it on the road for him to drive at 16 I think that's a bit of a stretch but at least maybe before he graduates.

My plans are to blast and either ospho or primer then start repair

Welcome aboard.

Just start cutting and replacing the rust one bite at a time.

I had similar rust on the roof. I cut it out a little at a time and replaced. I am a wood butcher learning body work as I go.

I ditched the drip rail in the front because my first attempt at rust repair just stunk.

Here is a link to my frame swapped rust bucket in progress. You have found a great source of motivation here on the forum. I follow several builds to keep me in the shop doing instead of dreaming.

https://r.tapatalk.com/shareLink?ur...85&share_tid=8085&share_fid=1252&share_type=t

Best of luck,

Duane

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk

That was going to be my next question. I have read a lot of these builds but have not ran across any with rust in the roof line.

I purchased a MIG welder and media blaster. I plan to hit it with crushed glass and see where the good metal starts.