Oct 9, 2017
Medina, Ohio
First Name
Don
Willys Model
  1. Pickup
Willys Year:
  1. 1948
I am totally confused what this set-up is supposed to look like, in a stock configuration on a '48 pickup 134 Go-Devil.

On my truck, all this stuff was all missing, even the carb was long gone. I have now found and bought a good Carter WO 636S carb. And I got an original oil bath air cleaner and the inner fender brackets from Harry at Midwest Willys (came with a mouse nest included, no extra charge!). And he sent me a 90 degree "Carburetor Air Horn" that sits on top of the carb (is there supposed to be a clamp(s) on that?) But I need all the various pieces in between.

I am studying the Kaiser Willys catalog, because it has some pictures, but they are making it worse, not better. Apparently, there is supposed to be a steel pipe section, which has a small outlet for a hose to run to the oil filler tube. And a section of black flex hose that runs from this steel pipe to the air cleaner? Is there a second piece of flex that goes from the air horn 90 degree piece over to that steel pipe? Or does steel pipe directly meet the air horn? Where do the clamps go, which joints?

Does anybody have a picture of what all this is supposed to look like, how it's set up? Or in a perfect world, an exploded view of the various parts involved?

Last edited:
OK, so nobody is comfortable being sure about this question, or doesn't have a photo available. I just went ahead and bought one of each that I might need, based mostly on the following two photos from the internet, which seem to be the closest thing to "stock" that I can find. Plus discussing it all with the Kaiser Willys guys.