How do I know if my clutch needs any work?

Olyrider

Bigger Hammer
Dec 12, 2016
Tacoma
First Name
Paul
Willys Model
  1. Wagon
Willys Year:
  1. 1949
Hey guys,

So I've begun to fix things in my recently acquired '49 wagon. I am NOT a mechanic, but I can watch Youtube videos of mechanics for hours! So there's that...

My 4wd wagon has the T90 trannie behind a '53 Ford 215 c.i. engine. The motor seems to have good compression across and it runs fine. But the trannie slips out of second gear...I guess that is a very familiar problem for many.

So my intention is, unless you guys talk me out of it, is to take the transmission to a trusted guy in Olympia and have him rebuild it with a Novak's kit, as well as install the Novak "Overdrive" adapter. He quoted me $450 for the work. He is a retired "Transmission teacher" from one of our local Voc/Tech schools. Overdrive because I want the "possibility" of county highway speeds. Any reason NOT to move forward with this plan instead of something different?

So that brings me to the clutch. How do I know that it might also be time to replace anything there? I ask because I assume it would be less expensive to do this at the same time. But I might be wrong about the since I am clueless. Even IF the clutch is in good shape now, is there anything preventative to do to it while the transmission is out?

See....one week on the forum and I have already exposed myself as the least knowledgeable person here!

Thanks in advance!

Paul

this would get more traffic on the main forum board. i bet one of our mods can move it for you. that being said.

probably a decent price for the work you are talking about. i would probably go head and do a new clutch disk while you are in there. not to terribly expensive and it is piece of mind that its done and wont fail two months after everything is back together going down the road. check all pins and linkage. clean them up. remove extra grease/dirt etc.