Bennington, Vermont 05201
First Name
David
Willys Model
  1. Pickup
Willys Year:
  1. 1947
Hey folks, thanks for having me aboard!

My name is Dave. I live in Southwest Vermont and I grew up in Northwest Michigan. Living not far from the Silver Lake Sand Dunes, I had a lot of friends who did the off-road thing, so I've always been generally aware of the coolness and utility of 4-wheel-drive but I've always stuck to the pavement. Since I've moved to Vermont, however, I've noticed how much more fun my 4x4 and AWD friends seem to be having in the snow.

Except for the last year or so, I've exclusively driven old vehicles and I really miss it. I sold my '62 Falcon and bought my wife the anniversary ring I'd always promised her, and since then I've been kind of casting about for a good daily driver for me. I'm a writer for Hemmings Motor News and its related publications, website, etc. When I travel, it's in a company car, so I no longer have any need for a road-trip car in my professional life. The highest speed limit on my 10ish-mile commute is 50 and traffic on that road often goes 40 or 45, so I'm not sweating short gears or unassisted drum brakes.

I've decided I need an Old Willys in my life. My first thought was a CJ2A but as I've done my research, it's become clear that I really just need a '2A, '3A, Willys Wagon or Jeep Pick-Up truck. Earlier is better, to my taste, but condition, proximity and cost will really rule the day. I have a slight preference toward the old pickup trucks so you could say something like a 1946 4T would be my ideal candidate, but it seems far more likely I'll find a mid-fifties to early-sixties example.

My search will be written up in Hemmings along with some tech eventually. I'm not rich by any stretch, so all this is contingent on funding also. I have a Royal Enfield motorcycle and a 2-wheel-drive '60 Dodge 3/4-ton to liquidate while I'm hunting for the right candidate.